Kathryn Joseph, Walt Disco and more for the 2022 SAY Award

The long list for the Scottish Album Of The Year (SAY) Award has been revealed for 2022 – see the 20 nominees below.

  • ALSO: Mogwai – ‘As The Love Continues’ review: Cinematic post-rock running out of steam

The annual award honors the best in Scottish music, and this year’s award will be presented at a live ceremony at Stirling’s Albert Halls on October 20.

The long list was narrowed down from 369 eligible record submissions by 100 unbiased music industry nominators. Among the nominees for this year’s award are C Duncan with ‘Alluvium’, Kathryn Joseph for her third album ‘For You Who Are The Wronged’, Walt Disco’s ‘Unlearning’ and Fergus McCreadie for his ‘Forest Floor’ nominated for the Mercury Prize.

See the full SAY Award 2021 Long List below:

AiiTee – ‘Best Days’
Andrew Wasylyk – ‘Balgay Hill: Morning in Magnolia’
Annie Booth- ‘Lazybody’
Bemz – ‘M4’
C Duncan – ‘Alluvium’
Callum Easter – ‘System’
Constant subscriber – ‘Neither is nor ever was’
Declan Welsh and the Decadent West – “It’s Been a Year”
Duncan Lyall – “Milestone”
Fergus McCreadie – ‘Forest Floor’
Hamish Hawk – “Heavy Lift”
Hen Hoose – ‘Equalizer’
Kathryn Joseph – “For You Who Are Wronged”
Kobi Onyame – “Don’t Drink the Poison”
The Ninth Wave – “Heavy as a Headache”

Niteworks – ‘A’Ghrian’
Proc Fiskal – ‘Siren Spine Sysex’
Rebecca Vasmant – “With love, from Glasgow”
Seonaid Aitken Set – ‘Chasing Sakura’
Walt Disco – ‘Unlearning

Robert Kilpatrick, Creative Director of the Scottish Music Industry Association, said: “As Scotland’s national music award, the SAY Award exists to celebrate the cultural impact and contribution of our country’s recorded production. The 2022 Long List showcases a vibrant and diverse collection of albums that span multiple genres and feature established and emerging talent from across the country.

“Despite the turmoil of recent times, the lasting impact and resonance of the album format remains. As vehicles of both self-discovery and connection with others, their power to ground us, to inspiring and uniting us is perhaps more important than ever.

The long list will be further whittled down by a specially selected jury to create the shortlist of 10 albums for this year’s SAY Award. Additionally, the public will be able to vote for their favorite album on the longlist from October 3-5 to ensure it makes the shortlist.

Mogwai has been announced as the winner of the 2021 SAY Award for his 10th studio album “As The Love Continues”. Elsewhere during the ceremony, rising Edinburgh star Lvra received a new Sound of Young Scotland award and Frightened Rabbit was crowned the first winner of a new ‘Modern Scottish Classic’ album award.

The 2022 SAY Prize winner will take home a prize of £20,000, with the nine runners-up receiving £1,000. In addition to the main prize, the Sound of Young Scotland Award and the Modern Scottish Classic Award will also return this year.

Comments are closed.