Music Composition Faculty Member Receives National Award

Jamie Leigh Sampson

SUNY Fredonia Faculty Member and Alumna Received Two of 10 Instrumental, Electronic or Vocal Composition Awards from the International Alliance for Women in Music’s Annual Search for New Music

School of Music assistant professor Jamie Leigh Sampson, who teaches composition and entrepreneurship, received the Alex Shapiro Award for her work ‘Ships’ Passing’ for wind ensemble. The work, co-commissioned by seven groups, was premiered by the University of North Texas Wind Orchestra under the direction of Andrew Trachsel in April. The work was collectively commissioned by groups including the University of North Texas, University of Akron, Bowling Green State University, Central Michigan University, Eastern Michigan University, Ohio University, and Wright State University.

Alumnus Emily Joy Sullivan, a 2018 graduate of the Master of Music Composition program at SUNY Fredonia, received honorable mention at the Libbey Larsen Award for her piece “(subito)” for solo percussion. “(subito)” was created by Chris Froh at the University of California, Davis, where Ms. Sullivan is completing her doctorate. in musical composition.

Sampson and Sullivan are both members of the ADJ•ective New Music Composers’ Collective.

More information about Sampson and Sullivan can be found online.

More information about ADJ•ective New Music can be found online.

The IAWM is the leading global organization dedicated to the equity, promotion and defense of women in music across time, cultures and genres. A connective and informative global organization, with members in 28 countries and growing, it increases opportunities and visibility for women in music.

Comments are closed.